life relating to earthquakes

Many of us have heard the news about the 8.8 earthquake in Chile. I read an article from Wired magazine a few days ago that said the city of Concepcion was moved 10 feet west by the quake. The capital city of Santiago was moved 11 inches west and even Buenos Aires, Argentina (800 miles away from the epicenter) was moved an inch. I know logically that this is the impact earthquakes have…tectonic plates move and the crust of the earth shakes, but 10 feet of literal movement of a particular city? I have a hard time believing that.

In my world in San Diego, I think the  earth is beginning to shake as well. There is a shift going on. I can feel it, I can sense it in my heart…something is changing. A shift of ideas, a shift of openness, a shift of passion, a shift of priorities…people seem to be leaving space for God to do something that we don’t have solutions for and can’t control. Through conversations with friends new and old, meetings that are exciting that didn’t seem to have life just a few months ago, opportunities like Community Serve Day through our church and Season of Service through partnership with a number of churches in the area. God is up to something…that I want to be a part of. I hope we have senses to realize the shift that is happening.

Do you sense the movement?

About Josh

Connector I Strategic Thinker I Teacher. Pursing opportunities that use my skills and experience.

Posted on 03.10.2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Milo James Fowler

    10 feet–wow. And according to NASA, the earth is rotating faster now, making our days shorter (by 1/1,000,000 of a second). http://articles.latimes.com/2010/mar/03/local/la-me-lost-time4-2010mar04

    I sure hope God is moving. After the recent news of Chelsea King, Amber Dubois, and the earthquakes in Haiti and Chile, I can only pray that our Lord Jesus will return soon.

  2. What interesting changes…wonder what that 1/1,000,000 means for us?

Leave a Reply

